Enforcing the occupant

protection law

/Shawn Herron, DOCJT Staff Attorney
/Robert McCool, Kentucky Injury Prevention and Research Center, Monticello Police Department

hen officers think about

their role as protectors of

the community, they often

think in terms of protect-

ing the public from violence
and crime. These risks, however, are not al-
ways the greatest risks facing communities.
In 2005, more than 200 Kentuckians died
from violence; 834 died in motor vehicle
crashes, according to the Kentucky Injury
Prevention and Research Center. Expenses
for collision-related hospitalizations alone
exceeded $142 million in 2005.

Thereis clear evidence that seat belts and
child safety seats reduce the risk of serious
injury and death for motorists involved in a
crash. Being properly restrained reduces a
person’s risk of being killed in a collision by
45 percent, according to a 2002 Traffic Safe-
ty Center newsletter. In spite of this, Ken-
tucky State Police Highway Safety Branch
dlata states that one out of every three adult
motorists in Kentucky does not wear a seat
belt. While very young children are usually
restrained, data from the National Highway
Transportation Safety Administration show
than only about one out of every five kids
aged 4 to 8 is riding in a booster seat.

We know from experience that active
enforcement of occupant restraint laws
increases the use of seat belts and child re-
straints. Increasing the percentage of prop-
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erly restrained motorists by just 10 percent
would likely save dozens of lives each year
in the commonwealth. One of the best ways
to protect our citizens and visitors is to en-
force KRS 189.125 — Kentucky’s occupant
restraint law.

Booster Seats

Are Now Included

The state’s occupant restraint law originally
was passed in 1962. It has been amended
numerous times, most recently during the
2008 legislative session when law makers
added a booster seat requirement to the
statute. The latest amendment was intended
to provide protection for children between
ages of 4 and 7. Citations for the new law
cannot be issued until July 1, 2009 but
warnings can be used until that date.

Booster seats are designed for children
who are too large for regular child safety
seats, but who are not tall enough to fit
properly into adult-sized seat belts.

The law now requires children who are
between 40 and 50 inches tall, and who are
younger than 7 years old, to be properly se-
cured in a booster seat.

Booster seats are required because they
reduce the chance of a child being injured
by a seat belt that does not fit properly. Seat
belts work by spreading the extreme impact
forces of a crash across some of the strongest

parts of a person’s body: the hip and sho
der bones. If the belts are worn improperiy
during a crash — such as across the stomach
or the throat — serious injuries such as li
lacerations, ruptures of internal organs
neck injuries can occur.
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\khicle seats and seat belts are de
to fit adults. To make themselves more @
fortable, children may slide forward in ve-
hicle seats. This causes the lap belt to move
upward onto the stomach and makes it hard-
er to keep the shoulder belt in the proper
position. Booster seats help by raising the
child so that the lap belt stays in position
across the child’s thighs. The extra height
makes the shoulder belt more likely to fit
properly, and most hooster seats include a
method of holding the shoulder beltin place
at the correct location. This increases safety
and comfort for the child.

Many parents and other adults who
transport kids may not know about Ken-
tucky’s new booster seat law. Even when
they do know about the law, some adults do
not understand why it is important to use

hooster seats and other occupant restraints. -
Officers have a unique opportunity
tect kids by educating drivers @ e

need for proper child restraints and by issu-
ing citations when necessary. It is important
to remember, however, that only warnings
can be issued until July 1, 2009. >>



BOOSTER SEAT, CHILD

SAFETY SEAT AND
SEAT BELT RESOURCES

Information, Assistance and Training
Kentucky Department of Transportation
Division of Driver Safety

Erin Goin, Child Passenger

Safety Program coordinator

(502) 564-1438

Erin.Goin@ky.gov

Kentucky State Police

Highway Safety Branch

Capt. Tim Lucas, branch commander
(502) 695-6213

Norton Healthcare

Kosair Children’s Hospital

Sharon Rengers, Child Passenger
Safety coordinator

(502) 629-7337
Sharon.Rengers@nortonhealthcare.org

University of Kentucky and Kentucky
Department for Public Health

Kentucky Injury Prevention

and Research Center

Robert McCool, program manager or Dr.
Susan Pollack, Safe Kids coordinator
(859) 257-4954

rmccool@uky.edu or susan.
pollack@uky.edu

Resources on the Web
National Highway Traffic

Safety Administration

Free information, training videos
and public information handouts
www.nhtsa.gov

SafetyBeltSafe USA

Information, both free and by
subscription, plus videos and handouts
www.carseat.org

Safe Kids Worldwide

Free information about a variety
of child safety issues, including
child passenger safety
www.usa.safekids.org
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Kentucky’s booster seat law is only a mini-
mum standard. It does not cover all kids who
may need to be in booster seats. NHTSA rec-
ommends that all children under 8 years of age,
or who are shorter than 4 feet 9 inches, ride
in booster seats. Of course, an officer can not
issue a citation for children who are not cov-
ered by the law, but certainly can take the op-
portunity to educate parents about the need for
proper child restraints.

Because vehicle seats and seat belts vary, a
child may need a booster seat in one vehicle but
not in another. There is a simple five-step test
to determine whether a child would be safer
riding in a booster seat. Parents should consider
these questions:

1. Is the child able to sit all the way back
against the vehicle seat?

2. Do the child’s knees bend comfortably
at the edge of the vehicle seat?

3. Does the shoulder belt cross the cen-
ter of the shoulder, without crossing
the neck or upper arm?

4, Isthe lap belt as low as possible, touch-
ing the thighs?

5. Can the child stay seated like this for
the entire trip?

If the parent answers “no” to any of these
questions, the child should ride in a booster
seat.

Other Occupant

Protection Issues

It is difficult to determine whether a child re-
straint is being used properly if an officer is not
actually sure how these devices should be used.

Children who are younger than 1 year old,
or who weigh less than 20 pounds (regardless
of their age), should always ride in a rear-fac-
ing child restraint. Rear-facing restraints must
never be placed in front of an active air bag, so
rear-facing restraints must usually be installed
in the back seat. If a rear-facing child restraint
must be used in a vehicle that only has one seat,
such as a pickup truck, the passenger side air
bag must be deactivated. Infants who were rid-
ing rear-facing in a seat in front of an active air
bag have been killed when the air bag deployed
and struck the back of their child restraint.

Children who are too large for a rear-fac-
ing restraint, but who are less than 40 inches

in height, must ride in a forward-facing child
restraint. Once they reach 40 inches in height,
kids can graduate from forward-facing child
restraints to booster seats. The law does not
always match the best practices advocated by
national safety organizations, so you should
always advise parents to learn about child pas-
senger safety and to do what is safest for their
child, even if it is not specifically required by
law.

One safety recommendation that is not re-
quired by law, for example, is that all children
younger than 13 should ride in the vehicle’s
back seat whenever possible. The back seat pro-
vides better protection from frontal crashes and
reduces the chance that a child will be injured
by a deploying air bag. If there are too many
children for all of them to fit in the back seat, it
is usually best for the youngest children to ride
in the back seat.

It also is important to enforce the seat belt
portion of the occupant restraint law. Unbuck-
led occupants also endanger everyone else
riding in the vehicle. Unrestrained occupants
become projectiles in a crash and they can seri-
ously injure other people riding in the vehicle.
For example, a child who is properly restrained
can still be injured or even killed if they are
struck by an unbelted adult during a crash.

All portions of KRS 189.125 are now pri-
mary offenses, which means an officer is not re-
quired to observe any other traffic violation in
order to stop a vehicle if one or more of the ve-
hicle occupants is not restrained. Failing to use
seat belts, a child restraint system or a booster
seat is sufficient to provide probable cause for
the vehicle stop.

The law makes the driver of the vehicle re-
sponsible for ensuring that all the occupants are
properly restrained. If an officer finds it neces-
sary to issue a citation for a violation of KRS
189.125, the citation should be issued to the
driver. This means that a driver may be cited
for no seat belt even if he or she is wearing a
seat belt, if someone else in the vehicle is unre-
strained. The driver is likewise responsible for
all children in the vehicle, even if the driver is
not the child’s parent or guardian and the par-
ent or guardian also is present in the vehicle. If
the citation to the driver is because a passenger
in their vehicle is unrestrained, it is essential to
explain the situation in the citation narrative.

However, there are some exceptions to the

law. U.S. mail carriers engaged in the perfor-
mance of their duties and any individual with a
written medical exemption are not required to
wear seat belts. Individuals claiming a medical
exemption from the seat belt requirement must
have a written statement from a licensed phy-
sician or chiropractor in their possession while
riding unrestrained in a vehicle.

No part of KRS 189.125 applies to farm
trucks registered for agricultural use only that

have a gross weight of one ton or more.

Finally, remember to assess the entire situ-
ation whenever you make a traffic stop. Check
the restraint status of all occupants whenever
stopping a vehicle for any traffic violation. Re-
gardless of the reason to stop the vehicle, always
take the opportunity to observe suspicious be-
havior or illegal items in the vehicle. The person
stopped for having an unrestrained child in their
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vehicle may also be intoxicated, have illegal sub-
stances in the vehicle, or be the subject of an
active warrant.

Citizens expect officers to protect and to
serve. With more than 800 people dying each
year on the highways of the commonwealth,
there obviously still is a lot of protecting to do.
Enforcing the occupant protection law is one of
the best ways to do it. J

Child Passenger Safety

REMEMBER: All children under 13 should ride in the back seat.
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REAR-FACING For the best possible protection keep infants in the back seat, in rear-facing child safety
SEATS ” seats, as long as possible up to the height or weight limit of the particular seat. At a
minimum, keep infants rear-facing until a minimum of age 1 and at least 20 pounds.

reach the upper weight or height limit of the particular seat (usually around age 4 and

When children outgrow their rear-facing seats (at a minimum age 1 and at least 20
FORWARD- J pounds) they should ride in forward-facing child safety seats, in the back seat, until they
FACING SEATS

40 pounds).

BOOSTER
SEATS

SEAT BELTS When children outgrow their booster seats, (usually at age 8 or when they are 4’9" tall)
& they can use the adult seat belt in the back seat, if it fits properly (lap belt lays across the

upper thighs and the shoulder belt fits across the chest).

Courtesy of the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration, from “Child Passenger Safety: A Parent’s Primer.”
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